Purpose of The Program

Purpose of The Program


Erasmus program is a European Union program to encourage higher education institutions to cooperate with each other. To improve the quality of higher education in Europe and to strengthen its European dimension. This goal can be summarized as presenting the good practices in different countries of Europe to the benefit of the whole of Europe. Erasmus program, its stated aims; It strives to achieve this by promoting international cooperation between universities, ensuring mutual exchange of students and educators in Europe, and contributing to the development of transparency and academic recognition of studies and degrees received in the countries participating in the program.

With the mobility opportunity it offers, the program serves to break the prejudices in the perception of European peoples in higher education circles.

The countries included in the Socrates Program are 27 member states of the European Union and program countries that are not members of the European Union (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Macedonia and Turkey) are open to higher education institutions.

If universities, institutes, academies and similar institutions, which are accepted as higher education institutions by the relevant official institutions of the countries, are entitled to receive Erasmus University Charter - EUC by applying to the General Directorate of Education and Culture of the European Commission, the students and academic staff of these institutions Can benefit from the Erasmus program. Once received, the EUC is valid until the end of the current Socrates period.